Floating on i.. CSS

Last, but not least, post all five screenshots. For each screenshot, describe what you took away from this part of the homework in 2-3 sentences.  If you have any questions about CSS, this is a great place to mention them.

Screenshot 1. Exercise 15-1

Screenshot 1. Exercise 15-1

1) The first exercise was fairly simple, even to the point of doubting that I had followed correct instructions. Because of the basic foundation this provided to the introduction to floating, I found it to be good practice for the following assignments.

Screenshot 2. Customized Tab Menu.

Screenshot 2. Customized Tab Menu.

2) Although I was a bit frustrated at first, after clearing my mind free from distractions, I was able to work through the challenge of creating these (also very basic) tabs. The whole issue with the rounded borders and border radius was unclear within the text and so I was forced to do a bit more outside research on how to manipulate the shapes. I still am not 100% sure how I did it, but they look fairly similar.

3) This section also gave me a bit of trouble and I blame it on the confusing text. There are parts that are pretty instructive as to where code should be placed within the block, but in this instance it was a weird combination of having to figure out a few things. However, after starting, re-starting, I finally was able to understand the simplicity of creating  a <div> tag for the paragraph text.

Screenshot 3. Exercise 15-4.

Screenshot 3. Exercise 15-4.

4) The fourth exercise was a good change in pace. Very simple as well. I’m starting to really enjoy incorporating CSS stylesheets in just about everything that I’m doing, not only for the convenience factor, but it’s also just very user and visually friendly. My favorite part was looking for pictures. Olala.

5) Again, it’s fun to build upon work that you’ve already created. To be honest, I sought out resources for understanding the placement of the <span> from both the chapter and from a few CSS websites, just to make sure I was doing the right thing. I actually really liked this part as well because I was able to place “text” inside of “text.” Silly, but cool.

Screenshot 4. Islands in the Stream That Is What We Are.

Screenshot 4. Islands in the Stream That Is What We Are.

Screenshot 5. Floated Definition of Maker Culture.

Screenshot 5. Floated Definition of Maker Culture.

Leave a Reply

