Celebrating Java Script

After working with Python last semester spending countless hours with the program, I’m excited to finally be applying the skills and knowledge learned through Java Script.

Testing out Code Academy was a great refresher for a few of the prompts and terminology used during programming. I appreciated the go at your own pace lessons and of course the badge rewards. It was an easy way to get back into the swing of things, especially in preparation for Java Script.

Java Script practice screenshot.

This was a really simple exercise.

The chapter “Introducing Java Script and the DOM” was a bit of a challenge to finish, not because it was difficult but because I felt as though there were some explanations of things left out. I still think that DOM is the name of a person, probably a Mafia boss, and not a Document Object Model. However, I’m about 95% sure I understand how it functions as a skeleton frame. Guess we’ll find out sometime next week.

Overall, I am really enjoying using Java Script. I feel empowered  and more confident than when I was using CSS at the beginning of the semester. I give all the credit and thanks to Dr. Matthew Hibbs for helping me understand the world of computer programming.

Leave a Reply

