Then & Now

When you give a girl some money, you’ll have to let her buy a shiny new computer.

HP Pavilion dv6t-1200

HP Pavilion dv6t-1200

1) Purchased in July 2009, Hewlett-Packard HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook PC

  • CPU NAME & SPEED: Intel(R) Core(TM) 2 Duo T6500 @2.10GHz
  • HARD DRIVE TYPE & STORAGE CAPACITY: 320GB 5400RPM SATA
  • RAM: 4.00GB
  • VIDEO CARD DETAILS: Intel(R) Graphics Media Accelerator 4500MHD
  • MAXIMUM DISPLAY RESOLUTION: 1366 x 768
  • LAPTOP DISPLAY SIZE: 16.0″ diagonal High Definition HP BrightView Infinity Display
  • BATTERY LIFE: 6 Cell Lithium Ion Battery (2-4 hours) + 12 Cell (up to 8 hours)
  • WEIGHT: 2.65 kg (about 5.8 lbs)
  • CPU BENCHMARK SCORE: Ranked 895 (low-mid range CPUs)/ 1,312

I really love my computer… except for when it overheats, becomes sluggish and decides to blast off like a spaceship. Other than it’s quirkiness, it’s served its purpose well over the last four years as my first personal laptop computer. When we originally purchased it, we did so in mind that I would use it for multimedia purposes. However, with passing time I am realizing how important it is to constantly update your soft and hardware for fear of getting left behind in the digital age. It wasn’t until I went abroad that I realized I might actually outgrowing my precious little white lightning. It even lost a tooth (my ;: key)! In comparison with the lab computers, mine is embarrassingly pathetic. I’d just like to think of it as the tortoise and the hare. I have established a good sound relationship and a sense of trust with my computer. It has yet to fail me and I am happy.

ASUS N56VJ DH71

ASUS N56VJ DH71

2) (Windows) Purchased sometime in the future, ASUS N56VJ DH71

  • CPU NAME & SPEED: Intel Core i7 3 i7-3630QM / 2.4GHz
  • HARD DRIVE TYPE & STORAGE CAPACITY: 1 TB HDD / 5400 rpm
  • RAM: 8GB (Max RAM supported 16GB)
  • VIDEO CARD DETAILS: NVIDIA GeForce GT 635M – 2GB
  • MAXIMUM DISPLAY RESOLUTION: 1920 x 1080 (Full HD)
  • LAPTOP DISPLAY SIZE: 15.6″
  • BATTERY LIFE: 6 Cell
  • WEIGHT: 5 lbs
  • CPU BENCHMARK SCORE: Ranked 76 (high-end range CPUs)/ 7,769

After doing a bit of research online for the “top ranked” and “editor’s choice” of computer for multimedia, tech savvy, computer literate design geeks, I decided that I would have to put my brand loyalty aside. The ASUS computer that I selected was an overall best buy and a great bang for your buck at just a little over $1,000. Guess that means I’ll get to purchase some extra toys for my computer. For personal and probably selfish reasons, I wasn’t able to give up the large screen that I currently have on my computer. So even at 15.6,” just a smidge smaller, I’m content. I like to see things up close, and often times crowd the desktop with lots of open windows. I know myself well enough that I would get frustrated with a tiny screen. As a bonus, this notebook is even a tad bit lighter! Yahoo!

MacBook Pro 13.3"

MacBook Pro 13.3″ with Retina

3) (Mac) Purchased sometime in the future, Apple MacBook Pro 13.3″ 

  • CPU NAME & SPEED: upgrade  to 2.9GHz dual-core (Intel Core i7 processor)
  • HARD DRIVE TYPE & STORAGE CAPACITY: 256GB SSD
  • RAM: 8GB, 1,600MHz DDR3
  • VIDEO CARD DETAILS: Intel HD 4000
  • MAXIMUM DISPLAY RESOLUTION: 1280 x 800
  • LAPTOP DISPLAY SIZE: 13.3″
  • BATTERY LIFE: Built-in 63.5 watt-hour lithium-polymer (up to 7 hours)
  • WEIGHT: 4.5 lbs
  • CPU BENCHMARK SCORE: Ranked 233 (high-end range CPUs)/ 4,522

I have never really been a huge fan of Macs, especially the notebook form. As a videographer and photographer at Pine Cove over the summers, I am used to working on the larger desktop for all my editing necessities. I’ve gotten pretty quick at the short cut commands. But when it comes to the laptop, I am close to lost. Something about the “clickability” and hand position is weird to me and thus I try to avoid Macs at all costs. I’m starting to realize that they are increasingly popular in the workplace (or at least ones that I’ve encountered)/becoming the industry standard, so I am doing my best to be open minded. Because of my limited budget, I was forced to downsize to the 13.3″ display, but upgrade to the 2.9GHz dual-core processor (total cost $1,699), a HUGE leap from what I currently own. This choice is also a lot lighter and would allow for better portability. Plus, I would blend in with everyone else.

Bottom line: if I were to purchase a new computer right now, I would probably go with the ASUS. 

Leave a Reply

